Zweite Heimat

June 3rd, 2017

From the coziness of this bungalow, I call Heim, Luftschloss was born, watered and fed.

Throughout the summer I have had the pleasure of learning many firsts as I ventured out of the comfort of the USA to live on my own but stumbled around getting to know a foreign community with the hope of soon recomposing myself as an Arheilger.

Just weeks before my departure, Merck’s Wohnungsservice had contacted local landlords in the area and before I knew it I was dragging around my hopes, dreams, and 32kg through the dirt and gravel that Google Maps convincingly lead me along. Besides putting these wheels through oblivion, I felt sure nobody was oblivious to the fact I was no Deutscher.

image-45650.jpegEnvious of my pen doing all the talking, I was relieved to discover my Vermieter had a superior grip on his English and was able to clear up the bureaucracy between the lines. Nevertheless, I soon found myself bursting with excitement, angst and all the other feelings imaginable as the reality started to settle in. Despite all the uncertainty in my emotions, I felt certain that I would grow near to this attic, although I sometimes bump my head on the ceiling in the early AM.

image-45650.jpeg

From a natural laundry evaporator to a glimpse of heaven’s gates, this Wohnung came equipped with a handful of adjustable skyline windows making any sizzling hot day an instant oasis and source of quick relief.

image-45650.jpeg

However, as Marvel’s Uncle Ben once said, with great power comes great responsibility, this mirage had made me delusional to Hessen’s very unpredictable weather forecast. Thankfully, I was able to find much comfort resting on an abnormally sized pillow that the Germans call a Kopfkissen, coming to the conclusion that German ingenuity requires the shoulders to be supported at night too.

image-50068.jpeg

All jokes aside as the days roll by trusting my intuition, Cribweg has certainly become a Wohlfühl place where I can creatively express myself, celebrate with others and find peace in preparing for the adventures that stand ahead.

image-51531.jpeg

3 thoughts on “Zweite Heimat

  1. Pingback: Übung macht den Meister – Luftschloss

  2. Pingback: Franklin Meilenlauf – Luftschloss

Leave a comment